PIP Insurance Does Not Cover Much
PIP stands for “personal injury protection.” PIP Coverage is mandatory for all Florida drivers, but it does not cover much. It will cover a portion of your medical bills and lost wages from a car accident, even if the accident was your fault. However, PIP only pays 80% of your medical bills and 60% of your lost wages usually up to $10,000. If you suffered any type of soft tissue injury (very common in car accidents) or worse, a significant injury, $10,000 is not much at all.
Your PIP will also cover your child, members of your household, certain passengers who lack PIP Insurance as long as they do not own a vehicle. People riding in your vehicle who carry PIP will receive coverage under their own PIP for their injuries, and certain licensed drivers who drive your vehicle with your permission. PIP also covers your child if he or she suffers an injury while riding on a school bus. PIP coverage protects you while in someone else's vehicle, as a pedestrian, or bicyclist if you suffer an injury in a crash involving a motor vehicle. T
Coverages That Are Mandatory Under Florida Law
he Florida Motor Vehicle No-Fault Law, requires all owner/registrants of a motor vehicle with four wheels or more to carry a minimum of $10,000 of Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and $10,000 of property damage liability (PDL) if you own a motor vehicle in Florida. Florida law requires you to maintain PIP/PDL insurance continuously throughout the licensing and registration period. Learn more about Florida insurance coverage requirements here.
While PIP coverage can be vital for you and your family's recovery immediately after an accident, the amount of coverage available to you can be much lower if you do not take the necessary steps to ensure you protect your rights to the coverage, and it is likely you may not know what those steps are. This is why it is important to contact a car accident attorney to help guide you through the process after you have been injured in an auto accident.